The Asanas- Poses

According to Hindu mythology, the sun is the sustainer of all life in the universe. The Surya Namaskara is well defined yogic technique that involved 12 postures which work together to revitalize the body and mind. Performing the Surya Namaskar not just helps us maintain good health, but also prepares the mind for a spiritual awakening. Each movement of the sun salutation is centered on forward and backward bending of the spinal column. This flexing and stretching of the spine results in health benefits for the body leading to a energized and harmonized physical structure.

Position 1: Namaskarasana (Prayer Pose)

Stand erect with feet together and eyes closed. Place both palms together in front of the chest in namaskara mudra. Bend your head forward.

Position 2: Upasthanasana (Raised Arms Pose)

Raise and stretch both arms above the head with palms facing upwards. Keep arms straight from the elbow and arch the back and stretch the whole body. Bend the neck slightly backwards.

Position 3: Padhastasanana (Hand to Foot Pose)

Bend forward from the waist and place hands besides the feet. Try to touch the forehead to the knees.

Position 4: Ek-paad Prasaranasana (Equestrian Pose)

  • Keeping both hands in place besides either feet, bend the left knee  while extending the right leg backwards as far as possible. The right toes are tucked under and knee touches the ground. Extend the head and spine to form an arch.

Position 5: Chatuskonasana (Mountain Pose)

Take the left foot and place it next to the right foot. Simultaneously, raise the hips and lower the head between the arms. The body will form a triangle with the floor. Feet will be flat and soles will touch the floor. Bend the head forward so you can see the knees.

Position 6: Ashtanga Pranipadasana (Saluting with Eight Parts)

Lower the knees, chest and forehead to touch the floor. Here, eight parts of the body including all toes, both knees, chest, both palms, and forehead touches the floor. The hips are raised.

Position 7: Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)

Lower the hips while pushing the chest forward and upwards with the arms. Raise the body to the navel level keeping the elbows with the body. The legs and lower abdomen will remain on the floor.

Position 8: Chatushkonasana (Mountain Pose)

This is a repeat of position 5. Keeping the arms and legs straight, raise the hips and bring head down to achieve the same position as in 5.

Position 9: Ek-paad Akarshanasana (Equestrian Pose)

This is a repeat of position 4. Bring the left leg forward and place the foot between the palms. Bring the right knee down to achieve the same position as in 4.

Position 10: Padhastasana (Hand to Foot Pose)

  • This is a repeat of position 3. Bring the right foot next to the left. Straighten the legs, bend forward and raise the hips while bringing the forehead towards the knees. Hands will remain on the floor.

Position 11: Upasthanasana (Raised Arms Pose)

This is a repeat of position 2. Bend from the hips, raise the torso and stretch the arms above the head. Arch backwards to achieve the same position as in 2.

Position 12: Namaskarasana (Prayer Pose)

  • This is a repeat of position 1. Straighten the body and bring the hands together in front of the chest to achieve the same position as in 1.

Follow by Email